Top 13 Songs of the 2000’s

I’m back with another edition of my crappy series on my favorite songs of the last few decades! Remember, only one song per band, and this is mostly going to be rock. With that boring crap out of the way, let’s get into it…

1) The White Stripes- “Seven Nation Army”

This is used a lot at football games, but it’s a great song on its own, with a great bass line.

Everyone knows about it, from the Queen of England to the hounds of Hell…

2) Muse- “Knights of Cydonia”

This song makes it because of the guitar solo at the end. The lyrics are fine, but when it transitions into the latter half of the song, it gets really good.

No one’s gonna take me alive…

3) The Wallflowers- “Sleepwalker”

This song is so friggin’ catchy. I love the parts where the chorus starts, especially.

Sleepwalker don’t be shy, don’t open your eyes tonight…

4) OutKast- “Ms. Jackson”

This is one of my favorite rap songs, as I like the pseudo-comedy in it along with the actual song.

I’m sorry Ms. Jackson, I am for real…

5) Red Hot Chili Peppers- “Dani California”

Another one that makes it because of the guitar solo. John Frusciante is a guitar god and he proves it in the final minute of this song.

California, rest in peace, simultaneous release…

6) The Killers- “Somebody Told Me”

I don’t know why, but this is my favorite Killers song. It’s a good club song, I guess.

Breaking my back just to know your name…

7) Franz Ferdinand- “Take Me Out”

The beginning of this song is so rhythmically perfect, and the transition into a pretty much completely different song is awesome.

I’m just a crosshair, I’m just a shot, then we can die…

8) U2- “Beautiful Day”

This song makes you happy unless you don’t like being happy. It’s also got some good lyrics and chords.

It was a beautiful day…

9) Green Day- “Boulevard of Broken Dreams”

I’ve already explained this one ,like, three times.

My shadow’s the only one that walks beside me…

10) 50 Cent- “In Da Club”

I do not like some of the lyrics, like “We in here having sex, we ain’t in here making love”, but I do like the beat and the rest of the song, so there.

We gon’ party like it’s yo birthday…

11) Eminem- “Lose Yourself”

I don’t need to explain this one, do I?

Best believe somebody’s payin’ the Pied Piper…

12) Train- “Drops of Jupiter (Tell Me)”

WOO! It’s got some epic, sweeping orchestral moments, and I like the space lyrics.

And did you fall for a shooting star, one without a permanent scar…

13) The Darkness- “I Believe in a Thing Called Love”

Justin Hawkins can do some fun stuff with his voice, and the guitar solos are great. This song and its music video are a nice throwback to the Queen days of unitard bands.

There’s a chance we can make it now, we’ll be rockin’ ’til the sun goes down…

And now for the runner-ups:

My Chemical Romance- “Famous Last Words”/“Welcome to the Black Parade” (Tie)

Coldplay- “Viva la Vida”

OutKast- “Hey Ya!”

The Killers- “Mr. Brightside”

Eminem- “Without Me”

Kings of Leon- “Sex on Fire”

Fountains of Wayne- “Stacy’s Mom”

U2- “Vertigo”

Green Day- Anything off of American Idiot not called Letterbomb

Incubus- “Drive”

Gnarls Barkley- “Crazy”

The White Stripes- “Fell In Love With a Girl”

Coldplay- “The Scientist”

So, I definitely cheated on this one, because I ended up listing a total of thirty-eight songs, if you include all the Green Day ones. But, I really like the music from the last decade, so, sue me. (Please don’t sue me, I have no money.)

 

Leave a comment